Day 27 The End of Dieting

20150805_125954

I am still listening to The End Of Diabetes and I picked up two other books by the same author – The End of Dieting and The Eat to Live Cookbook.  I am still horrified by what I am reading.  The author, Dr. Fuhrman makes a very good case against eating any animal products.  He explains how they are tied to higher incidence of diabetes, heart disease and cancer.  He also explains how treating diabetes with insulin actually makes the problem worse instead of better.  He tells why the SAD diet is so horribly unhealthy and shows that even a vegan diet can be unhealthy if you eat processed foods and don’t make sure your diet is filled with nutrient dense foods.  It makes me feel even more doomed.  In the photo above is my lunch from today – a large salad topped with sunflower seeds, hemp seeds and chia seeds and some quinoa with butternut squash (grown in my backyard garden).

I took my first yoga class this evening. It was a beginner class.  It is a kinder, gentler, quieter way of torturing your body.  Balancing is the hardest part for me. I totally need a sports bra and tighter clothing for yoga. Every time we did downward dog I was staring into my open loose tank top at my underwire bra which felt quite uncomfortable while doing yoga. I don’t even want to think about what I looked like from behind since I had loose shorts on.  You live and you learn. I realize  that I need some other form of exercise besides my morning walks.  Right now is the hottest time of the year and this morning when I went outside for my walk at 6 am it was 82 degrees.  That is just too hot for so early in the morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment