Day 31 Walk Your Butt Off!

Walk Your Butt Off!: Go from Sedentary to Slim in 12 Weeks with This Breakthrough Walking Plan

While I think this book is mostly common sense and overly simplistic, I think it could be good for someone who is currently not exercising or dieting at all.  I personally like the little section of exercises because they are easy enough for me to do.  Instead of push-ups, it has you start with a wall press – and while I cannot do a push-up, unless it is a push-up bra and even that is not for me, I can do wall presses – like a champ!  You can then work your way down to push-ups.  It also shows “door squats”  which involves holding onto the handles of an open door to do squats, which takes care of the balance issue that I had in the past while trying to do squats the way I saw on an online video.

I am also still listening to The First 20 Minutes book.  They discuss a large variety of exercise studies, many of which make me wonder who on earth thought that one up and why?  There are studies of stretching before exercising and cooling down afterwards – both of which, surprisingly make no difference and the stretching actually makes performance worse. There is also a study in which they had men drink low fat chocolate milk after exercising.  Not surprisingly, they had plenty of volunteers for that one and they eagerly complied with the instructions.  I am guessing that one was funded by the dairy industry.

I am still walking daily although today I only walked for 30 minutes with 4 bursts of speed – ok – jogging – included.  Today I jogged past 5 houses each time, which is double the amount of houses that I jogged past earlier this week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment