Day 28 My New Roots

My New Roots: Inspired Plant-Based Recipes for Every Season

This is a lovely cookbook that I got from the library.  I am considering buying it, but I need to make a few recipes from it first.  The author is from Denmark and uses European and American measurements in most places, but not always.  How much is a knob of coconut oil?

I am using one of her recipes to fit into the eating plan from The End of Dieting by Joel Fuhrman.

The End of Dieting: How to Live for Life

I really like what Joel Fuhrman has to say and am working on following his diet plan. It says to: 1. Eat a large salad every day as your main dish in one meal. 2. Eat at least a half cup, but preferably closer to 1 cup of beans a day. I don’t eat much beans right now so I will have to work up to that. I don’t really even like beans. However, I found a recipe that I am making tonight – from the cookbook My New Roots – Fully Loaded Breakfast Bars – they have chia, oats, and a can of white beans in them. I figure I can eat beans if they are in a cookie, which is close to what these breakfast bars will be like – I hope. 3. Eat one large serving of lightly steamed green veggies a day. 4. Eat at least 1 ounce of nuts and seeds per day if female – 1.5 oz if male. 5. Eat mushrooms and onions every day. I have not yet read why one needs to eat mushrooms and onions daily – that one seems a bit odd to me. 6. Eat three fresh fruits a day.
Right now that sounds like a lot of food – and I don’t know if I will get all of it in today because I had a late lunch and really just may eat a bean cookie for dinner, but perhaps I can stir fry some mushrooms, onions and greens to go with it. He says steamed veggies, but you can’t steam onion and mushroom. I do have his Eat For Life Cookbook but have not yet gotten very far in it – need to browse through it some more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment