Day 35 Forks Over Knives The Cookbook

Forks Over Knives—The Cookbook: Over 300 Recipes for Plant-Based Eating All Through the Year

My house is full of vegan cookbooks.  I have been checking out every vegan cookbook I can get from three different libraries – the one where I work, another library which is closer to my house, and one that is on my husband’s way home from his work – 3 different cities. Anyway, most of the cookbooks are not good. However, I did find one that I plan to buy – and I already have another cookbook from the same author – Terry Walters. I have her Clean Food cookbook and now I plan to purchase her new book, Eat Clean Live Well. So far I have made two different cookie recipes from it – vegan and gluten free. Tonight for dinner I made things from 3 different cookbooks – roasted carrots from Oh She Glows – and I added in some mushrooms with that, and baked okra and potato hash from Thug Kitchen, and Cauliflower-Cream butternut squash from the Forks Over Knives cookbook. That last one was supposed to have pasta with it, but I left out the pasta and I added soaked cashews and lots of spices and vinegars to the cream sauce and I totally loved it! The cream sauce – per my adjusted recipe – is to cook cauliflower in veggie broth – not even quite enough to cover it at first because it will shrink as it softens. Cool it and pour the whole thing in the vitamix and add some soaked cashews and blend it all and pour it over the cooked onions, bell peppers and butternut squash. Then, since it was rather flavorless, I added a bit of apple cider vinegar and balsamic vinegar, turmeric, smoked paprika, salt, pepper and ground cumin. It was kind of like a curry sauce. So yummy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment