January 2, 2016 – Thinner in 30

Thinner in 30: Small Changes That Add Up to Big Weight Loss in Just 30 Days

So, feeling all New Years resolutiony and all, yesterday I began reading the book Thinner in 30: Small Changes That Add Up To Big Weight Loss in Just 30 Days.  I received the book free to review from Netgalley.  I read the introduction and learned that the author, who seems to brag a lot about herself which kind of annoys me, but I am going to look beyond that, is presenting a tip a day and you should do the one the first day and then do that plus number two the second day and so on until by day 30 you are doing all 30 things.  She suggests that you do not skip around so I am not even going to read ahead.  I will just read each day and do it.  I realize that may not be possible if some of them require purchasing something that I don’t have, but I will leap that hurdle when I get to it.  So, yesterday I read Day One, which is to drink 20 sips (a strange arbitrary amount) of water every morning as soon as you get up – before you even get out of bed.  Obviously it was too late to do that but I am counting it as day one anyway and going on. I always  have water on my nightstand so I was all set this morning. Unfortunately, I did not remember to drink water as soon as I got up.  For one thing, I am on vacation so I did not have my alarm set and I actually slept in, a luxury I rarely am able to do, and I did not remember to drink water until I drank a few sips of coffee and my brain turned on.  Then I got a glass of water and drank it and went back to  my coffee.  The water is supposed to rehydrate you.  I am now supposed to drink water every morning as soon as my alarm goes off before getting out of bed and doing anything.  I’m not sure if I will ever remember to do that, but hopefully if I write about it every day eventually I will begin remembering to do it.

Today I read Day two which is to keep a food diary.  I have been doing that on and off for quite a few years on my food diary blog.  I don’t really share that with anyone – it is just a record keeping thing for myself.  I have found it helpful, but also difficult to keep up with.  I will begin again today recording my eating.  I know it is supposed to help me to see what I am eating that I should not be eating and I have done it enough that I know what I am eating that I should not eat when  I eat it.  I just eat it anyway. I can list my problem foods ahead of time.  Sugar.  Mainly in the form of cookies, chocolate and wine.   Here is the link to my food diary blog: http://herdingcats-fooddiary.blogspot.com/

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment